Take Your Daily Health Screening

  • Take Your Daily Health Screenin

    • The Safe Access Health Screen is now live.
    • PLEASE NOTE: Safe Access is a web-tool to be accessed only from a browser (Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari etc.), not an App. There is no app to download from the Google Play or Apple store. Some Apps with similar names exist, but these are not Safe Access.

About the COVID-19 Daily Health Screening

  • Each morning before reporting to work, we all need to fill out the COVID-19 Daily Health Screening form. Please answer each question honestly - there is no penalty for failing a screening. If you are experiencing symptoms, do not report to work. Failing a screening prevents you from entering DPS buildings and schools. 

    Together, we can reduce the spread of COVID-19, but we need your help. DPS, with guidance from the Colorado Department of Public Health And Environment (CDPHE), has developed a process to isolate developing symptoms and positive cases for COVID-19.

    Learn more about the CDHPE guidelines on their site.

Failed Daily Health Screening - Next Steps

  • Use this Decision Tree to help you determine next steps. In general, you will:

    1. Contact your Supervisor immediately. Let them know you are not allowed in the building because you did not pass your Daily Health Screening. If your position allows and you are feeling well enough, you may work from home (with supervisor approval). You may also use your normal sick leave if you are feeling unwell and believe your illness is not related to COVID-19. 
    2.  Stay home, except to get medical care.  Do not go to work, school, or public areas.  Avoid using public transportation, rideshares, or taxis. If possible, separate yourself from other people in your home.
    3. You May Return To Work or Activity:
      1. In 24 hours 
        • If your symptoms have resolved within 24 hours of onset without medicine.
      2. After 10 days 
        • If it has been 10 days since symptoms appreared AND symtoms are resolvings AND you haven't had a fever for 24 hours. 
      3. At any time
        • If there is a known alternate medical diagnosis from a medical provider (ie: chronis conditions, allergies, asthma, or other). 
    1. You may need to Submit for a leave of absence through TruePay. Use our How To Guide to submit your request. **If you are feeling well, and are able to work from home, you do not need to submit a leave request.
      • You will select “Emergency Leave – Employee/Individual in Household”; this is the COVID-19 related leave option. 
      • Add to the notes that you did not pass your health survey and list your symptoms.  You do not need to attach additional documentation from your doctor.  
      • For more information regarding available COVID-related leaves and accommodations, visit Accommodations & Leaves for COVID-19
      • You will receive an email confirming your leave and pay for the applicable time period from the Leave of Absence team within 5 business days.

    Note: You may only return to work prior to the 10 business days if your symptoms are bettering based on the guidance above OR you have sent a doctor's note confirming a negative COVID-19 test result to LeaveOfAbsence@dpsk12.org or faxed to 720-423-3853. 

  • Pay During Your Mandatory Leave for Failed Health Screenings

    The Colorado Department of Labor requires that DPS offer eligible employees up to 10 business days of emergency medical leave associated with COVID-19 symptoms. Eligible employees must have been employed with DPS for a minimum of 30-days. 

    Your 10 business day leave will be covered at 100% of your FTE. This means that your leave accruals (sick, Sick Leave Bank, vacation, and personal) will not be deducted. If your leave extends beyond the initial 10 business day period, we will continue your pay by utilizing your sick, Sick Leave Bank (if applicable), vacation, and personal (optional) accrued time. 

  • New Hire Pay During Your Mandatory Leave for Failed Health Screenings

    If you have been with DPS for less than 30 days, you still qualify for a partially paid COVID-19 related leave. Your 10 business day leave will be covered at 2/3rds of your FTE. If your leave extends beyond the initial 10 business day period, it will be unpaid.  

CONTACT