Safe and Healthy Schools Guide

  • Denver Public Schools is committed to eradicating the school-to-prison pipeline. Studies show a national trend where children are removed from public schools and moved into the criminal justice system for minor offenses and non-violent behavior. Many of these children have trauma, learning disabilities, and a history of poverty. The resources provided are to assist schools in eliminating the need for law enforcement contact, and empower schools to have safe, welcoming and restorative communities.

    The DPS Board of Education (BoE) approved a resolution in the summer of 2020 to end all SRO contracts with the Denver Police Department (DPD). Part of the reasoning for this decision is the belief that the close proximity of law enforcement to students on campuses directly contributes to the school-to-prison pipeline. For more information about the SRO board resolution, visit the School Resource Officer Transition website.

    Climate and Culture: Building a Tale of Two Schools emergency button
    dos logo Disc Button  

Contact


  • FAQ Button


    Discipline Program Managers:
    Barbara Downing Ph.D: District Managed Secondary Schools
    barbara_downing@dpsk12.org

    Benjamin Marcial: District Managed Elementary Schools
    benjamin_marcial@dpsk12.org

    Jeb Holt: Charter Schools
    jeb_holt@dpsk12.org

    District Crisis Recovery Team
    Meghan Kimball, EdS, NCSP
    720-812-0281

    District Mental Health
    Ellen Kelty, MA, NCPS, Director of Mental Health and Student Safety
    720-468-8364

    Meredith Fatseas, LCSW, Manager of Social Work and Psychological Services
    720-423-2646

    Dept of Safety Communications Center (Dispatch)
    Phone: 720-423-3911

    ISMPs, DPR and Title IX:
    Alicia Franks Gibson
    alicia_franksgibson@dpsk12.org

    Restorative Practices:
    Deanna Goodrich Ph.D
    deanna_goodrich@dpsk12.org

    Student Safety Coordinators:
    Jane Lineman Ph.D: Threat Appraisal, Suicide Risk Reviews, Self-harm, Postvention
    jane_lineman@dpsk12.org

    Substance Prevention
    Michel Holien, Manager of Prevention Services
    michel_holien@dpsk12.org  

    Safe2Tell
    Phone: 1-877-542-7233