Colorado voters approved Proposition 118 in November of 2020, paving the way for a state-run Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance (FAMLI) program. The FAMLI program will ensure all Colorado workers have access to paid leave in order to take care of themselves or their family. DPS is excited to offer this new Leave of Absence benefit to our employees starting 1/1/2023. In May and June of 2022, DPS will recommend to the DPS Board of Education to Opt-out of mandatory participation in FAMLI but allow employees to voluntarily elect this benefit so employees can decide what is best for their own situation.
How does it work?
Beginning on January 1, 2024, nearly every Colorado worker who earns at least $2,500 in yearly wages within the state will be eligible to take paid family and medical leave during covered circumstances:
- To care for a new child, including adopted and fostered children
- To care for themselves, if they have a serious health condition
- To care for a family member with a serious health condition
- To make arrangements for a family member’s military deployment
- To address the immediate safety needs and impact of domestic violence and/or sexual assault.
How much income will I receive while on a FAMLI leave?
Depending on your income, when using paid leave, you will receive between 37% and 90% of your normal weekly wages. Benefits are capped at $1,100 per week. Most workers are eligible to receive up to 12 weeks of paid family and medical leave. Those who experience pregnancy or childbirth complications may receive an additional four weeks. For information on what your FAMLI benefit would be, check out the Premium and Benefits Calculator.
Who pays for FAMLI?
Beginning on January 1, 2023, your employer may begin deducting up to 0.45% of your pay to cover your portion of the FAMLI premium.
What are my rights to take a leave?
Eligible Colorado workers have the right to take paid family and medical leave for covered circumstances. The leave benefit is “portable” and is not dependent on the amount of time you have worked for a specific employer or the size of your company. Once you have served in your job for at least 180 days (about six months), your job is protected under the law. As long as you are eligible and qualify to use paid leave, your employer cannot prevent you from taking it, and cannot penalize or fire you for taking paid leave.
How do I opt-in for FAMLI?
More information regarding opting into FAMLI will be provided by the State of Colorado after July, 2022. Please see the FAMLI Website for more information.